Creating with Scraps: 3!

Focusing on my scraps this past year proved to be very productive!  I tried the Jelly Roll Race with my deconstructed African outfits.  All I needed was to cut and add the black 2.5 inch strips.  I think it will be a nice to embroider an African proverbs in empty spaces between the printed fabric.

 

I also had a ton of leftover half square triangles from the Triangle star quilt I made in 2013.   I used them to make this crib quilt which lead to a larger quilt with a slightly different layout.  Still using that gold African fabric!

 

Here’s Edyta Sitar’s Flea Market Treasure Quilt from my 1.5 inch strips.  My girlfriend Bernerdett and I had a bright idea to quilt it first and then complete the applique afterwards! Who want to wiggle around all of that applique… We both think it would be easier to applique it afterwards; it’s just around the borders, how bad could that be? Scraps and more scraps… even my appliques are from scraps!

 

These house blocks are from a project I didn’t like.  They have been reallocated to crib quilts for my Guild’s community service projects.  Each year at the retreat we have a group challenge and I’ve been using my scrappy house blocks for the centers! The first was made into a Log Cabin Round Robin in 2015 and The second is a Border Round Robin in 2017.  Two done, six more to use up!

Houses 6

 

Here’s a bunch more.  I did a 80 x 90 African fabric Log Cabin,  a 80 x 80 Carpenter’s Wheel from strings and crumbs, and red white and blue Log Cabin and Edyta Sitar’s Made in the USA,  https://www.laundrybasketquilts.com/blog/sew-caring-texas-we-want-to-help/ a fund-raiser for hurricane disaster relief.  The red-white-blue and flag quilt were given to Veterans at Ward Memorial AME, 241 Second Street, NE Washington, DC. Also see my post,  Stash Busting String Quilts.

 

This last quilt I made using crumbs and orphan blocks.  I first learn of this technique from my girlfriend Rosa.  She shared a Sawtooth Star block during Show-n-Tell.  the body of the block was a bunch of scraps she had sewn in to fabric.  She then cut the parts for the Sawtooth Star, the background of the block was a solid fabric.  I was amazed!

My crumbs are anything I can’t strip piece or anything I won’t use in applique. This is an excellent project to take on retreat!  There’s no pattern needed, just stitch, press and cut.  When you get the desired size, in my care 6 inch blocks, just square them up!

When I got home I added the corner stones and sashing.  I did reproduce this quilt in EQ7 just to get an idea of how much fabric I had made and used.  To my surprise this crumb quilt has $52 of fabric that would have otherwise gone into the trash!!!  So think about that before you toss your scrap fabric out!  When I took it to the next Guild meeting, it went home with Autumn Rose (5 years old)!

 

Oh, I saw this post on Crazy Moms Quilt (http://crazymomquilts.blogspot.com/2017/07/pincushions-21-31-finale-and-blog-break.html).  I made 26 mini pin cushion’s for everyone at the retreat!

Scrappy Pin Coushin

 

That’s all for now, enjoy your SCRAPS!!!!

Jennifer

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

